The Promised Land


Bud1web

The Promised Land by Nicola Rickards Karesh

Thinking about the promised land and the beloved community.  I feel myself there.

Who will be by my side?

Who is walking the light-filled path with me?

But what about the others?

There, but for the Grace of God, go I and once upon a time, I was in the dark, unaware and completely unconscious.  Driven by a narrow margin, rim and edge of what served self.  I wonder if someone would have imagined wide enough to include me?

Is my field broad enough… generous in its capacity to include those whose backs are turned away?

Prayer could never leave anyone out.  Someone must bless the sinners and the uninformed, just as surely as God blesses me with His Grace when I am spinning with eyes closed in the dark.

The promised land is that all-inclusive peace that is here for us all.

The beloved community wraps each one in its tender folds.  Some are being gently coaxed to open their eyes.  Others are blessed and held as they go as they may.

Me?

I feel the Light.  It trickles down sometimes and I am like that budding shoot.  Emerging and opening to the warmth.  Protected by the giant oak above me, whose limbs and branches spread wide enough for the golden sun to filter through.

I feel the Light.  It shines brightly sometimes, as I am completely open and upturned.  Little ones below me feel my protection and my shade.

I feel the Light.  In my darkest hours, I remember there is such a thing and I turn my gaze.  My faith is always in my Father.  He watches as I feel my way.  He prompts, he steers and sometimes He is a driving force that whacks me between the eyes to WAKE UP!

Life is passing you by sister! Grab hold! Sink your all into the swell that is rising… cresting.

He would leave no-one behind.  But sister… brother… you have to choose.

Nicola G. Karesh, copyright © 2012 – All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

