Who Speaks To Me Of Love?


Who Speaks To Me Of Love? by Nicola Rickards Karesh

(written about this beautiful leopard, but the parallels are definitely there for people)

A mean, black leopard inveigles his way into my heart and cracks it wide open!  There really is no rhyme or reason why he, above all others, calls to me today, but he does.  I can see his regal profile looking out and I feel tenderness for the ones who cloak their vulnerability behind a lofty facade.  Reminds me of Egyptians, pyramids and pharaohs.  His sleek black coat cloaks his spots and I think of well-oiled silk.  No matter what you wear though, I can still see you… feel the essence of your soul.

His Mother has the more memorable story, but somehow, Brumby captured my heart from the start.  Your plaintive cry stirs up images of babies calling for their Mamas and Papas.

Everybody has the capacity to love… even one who is filled with spitting rage and a mean strike.  I saw you spitting mad and lashing out at the hands that feed you.  I watched you come swiftly to be stroked by the one you love.  I heard your sweet cry and it touched my heart.

Love has its way of releasing us from the annihilation of the dark.  Even for just a momentary dance in the moonlight!  Nobody’s story is in vain.  It has the ability, like this regal one, to call our name.

You make me think of outcasts and angry ones.  Somehow, in spite of it all, they still manage to inspire love in another’s heart.

You make me think of hatred and mean, locked away hearts.  Someday, somehow, that cold, black wall can crumble and fall.  For even you can respond in a second to love’s call.

Nicola Rickards Karesh, copyright © 2010 – All rights reserved.

(Brumby is a beautiful boy who resides at the Exotic Feline Rescue Center in Indiana.)

2 thoughts on “Who Speaks To Me Of Love?

  1. One of the perks of staying overnight at the Exotic Feline Rescue Center’s overnight apartment is definitely Brumby! He is right outside in his enclosure with Pauli-Ann! Thanks for the feedback!

Leave a Reply

