It’s About Damn Time!


2014-09-05 108

It’s About Damn Time! by Nicola Rickards Karesh

If I were a black man in today’s society, I doubt that I would be able to keep a level head.

I am considering whether or not to go for brutal honesty, or to carefully weigh my words for fear of inciting the rabble to rouse!

Dial the years back a few… change my gender, recorded ethnicity so someone can squeeze my rich heritage into a tiny box,  keep emotions and personality as they were…

I’d be liable to be running wild in a street, protesting, burning a GMO field or two or three or…. not pulling over in a remote area for anyone no matter that I see a badge or a uniform.  I am driving to the well-lit, populated parking lot, so I have a witness with nothing going down in the dark, behind-the-scenes, alley. 

I doubt that I’d be embracing turn the other cheek mentality.  How long would I have to intern under Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., or be a devout disciple to Jesus to be crucified without a physical fight? These men had fire in their bellies and peace lighting their hearts.  I wasn’t that enlightened back then and it’s questionable, even though I’d like to think that I’m noble, if I would be an angel when greeted with a constant, barrage of darkness.

Lift me up God. Show me the holy way.

At 18, I had fire, but peace was not yet a permanent fixture in my house.  I’m sure I’d be making a list and thinking up ways to get retribution.  I wouldn’t be forgetting anything! Every wrongful death, unwarranted imprisonment, misuse of force and power, would be notches on my belt and by hell or high water, I’m going to get every one of you back.  See, I hadn’t learned the serenity prayer yet. 

I would have the wild-eyed bravado to think I can affect change and if the now corrupt, legal channels weren’t working for me, then who am I to become a doormat? 

Complacency has never been my middle name.I would have the wild-eyed bravado to think I can affect change and if the now corrupt, legal channels weren’t working for me, then who am I to become a doormat? 

I’m surprised that there aren’t more riots.  I’m surprised there isn’t more destruction.  I’m not surprised that people are beginning to rise up.  It’s about damn time.

Nicola Rickards Karesh, copyright © 2014 – All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

